The Order of Merlin was an award bestowed upon a British witch or wizard by the Wizengamot to commemorate their special achievement for the wizarding world. The award could be either First, Second or Third class depending on the level of contribution to the wizarding community. Albus Dumbledore, Minerva McGonagall and Remus Lupin were all given a First Class Order of Merlin (as was Cornelius Fudge, although his was self-appointed which some felt diminished the value of the award). Gilderoy Lockhart, Harry's Defence the Dark Arts teacher in his second year, was in possession of a Third Class Order of Merlin.